MN Composers Featured in ACF Faith Partners Catalog

From 1992-2018 Faith Partners inspired communities across the country, invigorated sacred music, and introduced more than 50 composers into congregations large and small, urban and rural. We’ve just updated the list of over 200 accessible, liturgical works created during the residencies, many of them by MN composers. Please share it with the choral directors in your life, […]

Latest News from Spitting Image Collective

MN composers Katherine Bergman, Josh Clausen, and Daniel Nass are the Spitting Image Collective, and they’ve had some fantastic experiences this year! Read their latest newsletter, including the announcement that they’ll be hosting & writing for Boston-based Hub New Music in April 2019!

2018 MSAB Artist Initiative Grant Announcement

There is so much original and new music in this year’s list of MSAB Artist Initiative Grant awardees! Congratulations to Krissy Bergmark, Mark Bilyeu, Jeffrey E. Brooks, Greg Brosofske, Craig Carnahan, John Croarkin, Paul Dice, Michael Masura Flora, Jerry Kosak, Matthew McCright, Scott L. Miller, Crystal Myslajek, Natalie Nowytski, Rachel Ries, JC Sanford, SEE MORE […]

MN Artists on Latest Innova Release

Now out on innova, ACF’s recording label: Maithree, the ensemble, was formed when Nirmala Rajasekar, Indian veena virtuoso, invited some friends to play music together. With visiting South Indian drum guru Boopathi, cellist Michelle Kinney, and brothers Pat (clarinet) and Tim O’Keefe (world percussion), this is Minnesota-grown idealism at its finest, where no barriers to […]

John Keston Makes 2nd Appearance at ISSTA Conference

MN composer John Keston wrote to share, “Soon I’ll be on my way to Ireland for my second appearance at the Irish Sound, Science and Technology Association (ISSTA) annual conference. This time around my work is entirely rooted in FM synthesis. Particularly around my explorations of the amazing PreenFM2. I have designed a Max for Live patch […]

Innova artists up for 2019 Grammy Awards

Innova, the recording label of the American Composers Forum, shared this impressive list of innova artists who have been nominated for the 2019 Grammy Awards. **Congrats to the Minnesota artists & composers among them! If There Were Water Donald Nally NU, conductor (The Crossing), Paul Vazquez, producer Lansing McLoskey: Zealot Canticles Donald Nally, conductor (The […]

Gao Hong Receives Sally Award

Congratulations to MN composer, pipa master, and Carleton College professor Gao Hong for receiving a Sally Award for her commitment to sharing Chinese musical traditions with communities across Minnesota! The awards, which were announced Tuesday, honor extraordinary achievements in five categories: arts access, arts learning, commitment, initiative and social impact. Winners received their awards and $1,000 each […]

MRAC Announces Arts Activities Support Grant Winners

Congratulations to the many artists and organizations who were recently awarded Arts Activities Support Grants! Composers & new music projects are well represented, including: 10th Wave Chamber Music Collective, OboeBassFluteCello!, Balkanicus Ensemble, Minneapolis Guitar Quartet Association, MPLS (imPulse), Red Eye Theater, Singers in Accord, Tru Ruts Endeavors, Twin Cities Jazz Workshop, Consortium Carissimi, Fidgety Fairy […]

News from our neighbors in Eau Claire

Dr. Chia-Yu Hsu, internationally celebrated composer and UWEC associate professor of music, will premiere two compositions during the opening weekend of the beautiful new Pablo Center for the Arts, one during an afternoon event and one during an evening gala. Learn more