Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra

October 13, 2019 @ 4:00 pm

Kevin Kling Channels the Brothers Grimm

The Metropolitan Symphony Orchestra and Music Director William Schrickel open the season by welcoming back author Kevin Kling to narrate the world premiere of The Twelve Dancing Princesses, Kling’s humorous setting of the Grimm brothers’ classic fairy tale with music by Victor Zupanc, co-commissioned with the St. Olaf Orchestra. The program concludes with MSO Solo Competition winner Sarah Wright performing Russian composer Dmitri Shostakovich’s dark and virtuosic Violin Concerto No. 1, written for David Oistrakh in 1948, then locked away by Shostakovich until the death of Joseph Stalin five years later.

William Schrickel, conductor

Victor Zupanc, composer

Kevin Kling, narrator

Sarah Wright, violin

Victor Zupanc The Twelve Dancing Princesses, with text by Kevin Kling (MSO commission – world premiere)

Kevin Kling, narrator

Dmitri Shostakovich Violin Concerto No. 1 in A minor, op. 77

Sarah Wright, violin


October 13, 2019
4:00 pm
Event Categories:


Roseville Lutheran Church
1215 Roselawn Ave. W
Roseville, MN United States
+ Google Map